New and upcoming jazz albums in spring 2013

The Berlin-based guitarist Kalle Kalima has again been inspired by films, and now dedicates Klima Kalima’s new record Finn Noir (ENJA) to the Finnish film noir scene, namely to the works of film directors such as Matti Kassila, Aki Kaurismäki and Mikko Niskanen. The band Klima Kalima has worked together over ten years now, including Germans Oliver Potratz on double bass and Oliver Bernd Steidle on drums.

The pianist Aki Rissanen has released a new album together with saxophone virtuoso Robin Verheyen (Belgium) and drummer Markku Ounaskari. Aleatoric (Eclipse Music) was recorded during a special, live, one-day studio session. Just like many of the all time classic jazz albums, Aleatoric captures, like a musical photograph, a special moment in the recording history of these great musicians. The music is new and fresh but, at the same time, the method of making this album is deeply rooted in the best tradition of classic jazz.

Dalindèo’s third full-length album, Kallio (KHY Suomen Musiikki), pays homage to the rugged and lively neighborhood of Kallio in Helsinki. The band’s leading man Valtteri Pöyhönen (guitar) seeks inspiration close to home and turns the decadent ambiance of his neighborhood into Dalindèo’s recognizable jazz sound: danceable rhythms, characteristic melodies and the craftsmanship of the ensemble’s top-notch musicians (Jose Mäenpää, trumpet; Petri Puolitaival, tenor sax; Rasmus Pailos, percussions; Pekka Lehti, double bass; Jaska Lukkarinen, drums).

Joonas Haavisto Trio´s new album Micro to Macro (Fredriksson Music) is now being released in Europe during February. As the title of the album suggests, the compositions have been inspired by nature and physics. The trio’s sound reflects the freshness of Nordic jazz, and the interaction of the musicians (Joonas Haavisto, piano; Antti Lötjönen, double bass; Joonas Riippa, drums) plays an important role in their music. The album was also released on December 2012 in Japan on, where the trio will be touring on 15-23 April. Additionally, they will also tour in UK during autumn 2013. 

Other recent jazz albums include the second release of Aapo Heinonen Quintet, called Healing Flows (Prophone), Tales from the Deep Waters (Tourist Information) from the young musicians of Virta, Prospektum (TUM Records) from Halme Prospekt lead by multi-genre master and saxophonist Hepa Halme, Esa Helasvuo’s Stella Nova (TUM Records), ¡haUtUllin! (Barefoot Records) from a duo by the same name, including young and creative improvisers Markus Pesonen and Håkon Berre (Norway), and Um Jepa (Fiasko Records) by “freebassjazzhoplounge” duo The Two Men Galaxy formed by Seppo Kantonen (Hammond) and Joonas Riippa (drums).