Jaakko Eino Kalevi and Pekko Käppi & K:H:H:L nominated for Phonofile Nordic Music Prize

The 12 nominees for this year’s Phonofile Nordic Music Prize have been announced. The prize, which is awarded for the best Nordic album of the year, will be given at showcase festival and conference by:Larm on March 3 in Oslo.

This year’s Finnish nominees are Jaakko Eino Kalevi’s electronic pop album Jaakko Eino Kalevi and Pekko Käppi & K:H:H:L’s cross-genre recording Sanguis meus, mama! Other nominees include Jenny Hval, Seinabo Sey, Anna Von Hauswolff and Björk.      

The winning album is chosen by a jury consisting of Jude Rodgers (The Guardian), Stuart Maconie (BBC), Laurence Bell (Domino Records), Jonathan Galkin (DFA Records) and Jeannette Lee (Rough Trade).

Last year prize was given to Mirel Wagner’s When the Cellar Children See The Light of Day, making her the first Finnish artist to win the prize. Previous winners include Jónsi, The Knife and First Aid Kit.

Nominees for Phonofile Nordic Music Prize

Band of Gold (NO) - Band of Gold
Björk (ICE) - Vulnicura
Frisk Frugt (DK) - Den Europæiske Spejlbue
Anna von Hausswolff (SE) - The Miraculous
Jenny Hval (NO) - Apocalypse, girl
Jaakko Eino Kalevi (FI) - Jaakko Eino Kalevi
Pekko Käppi & K:H:H:L (FI) - Sanguis meus, mama!
Teitur Magnússon (ICE) - 27
Myrkur (DK) - M
Ost & Kjex (NO) - Freedom Wig
Seinabo Sey (SE) - Pretend
Danni Toma (DK) - Grå